MSSC President

Howard Y. Chang, MD is a board-certified emergency medicine physician in Wichita, KS. Graduating from the University of Virginia School of Medicine in 2005, he further honed his expertise by completing a residency in Emergency Medicine at Temple University in 2008. Currently, he serves as an emergency physician at the Ascension Via Christi and Rock Regional Hospital emergency departments. Dr. Chang also serves as the Medical Director for the Ascension Via Christi St. Francis Emergency Department and Critical Care Transport Team. He is also currently the President of the Kansas Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians. Dr. Chang has held various leadership roles within the community over the years.

Beyond his professional responsibilities, Dr. Chang celebrates 15 years of marital bliss with his wife, Lan, and is a proud father to their daughter. Apart from his passion for medicine, he finds joy in gardening and travel.

MSSC Executive Director

Phillip Brownlee became the MSSC executive director in May 2017. He worked for 21 years at The Wichita Eagle, including 16 years as editorial page editor. During his tenure at The Eagle, Phillip and the editorial board won numerous journalism awards, including the Kansas Public Health Association service award. Phillip also worked previously as a certified public accountant in Dallas and as public information director. He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting and business administration from Sterling College and a master’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.

MSSC Board of Directors

  • Jany K. Moussa, MD President Elect
  • Apeksha Sathyaprasad, MD Secretary
  • Tuan N. Nguyen, MD Treasurer
  • Maurice L. Duggins, MD Immediate Past President
  • Rebecca L. Foster, DO
  • Shauna M. Kern, DO
  • Stephanie N. Kuhlmann, DO
  • Mark A. Leiker, MD
  • Christina M. Nicholas, MD
  • Ashley S. Robbins, MD
  • Katie Rosell, MD
  • Wassim H. Shaheen, MD
  • Lindsay A. Strader, DO