Dr. J.F. Gsell, first president of the Medical Society

Physicians who care…. for their patients, their community and their profession.

The Medical Society of Sedgwick County is a membership organization representing the physicians of Wichita-Sedgwick County. It was formed in 1903 by 25 local doctors who considered their calling the “noblest of all professions.” Nearly 120 years later, MSSC counts more than 90 percent of practicing physicians as members and continues its founders’ historic commitment to the health and well-being of their patients.

The Wichita-Sedgwick County medical community has a strong, committed legacy of promoting the highest standards in ethical medical practice, medical education, research and community health.

As MSSC’s first president, Dr. J.F. Gsell said more than a century ago:  “In all that makes mankind better, we (physicians) have been found in the foremost ranks. As doctors, we have and are and ever will do our duty and fulfill our destiny.”

Dr. Andrew Fabrique, pioneer physician and "Father of Medicine in Wichita"